Cover art?

After spending 13 months in a weird sort of contract limbo, the publisher that wanted “Fall of the Old Guard” has suddenly popped back up into play, and their very first question is:  Do I have any ideas for cover art?

Er…  no, I must admit that I do not.   Sure, I see myself walking into a bookstore, going to the appropriate genre aisle, going to C and finding one of my books available there.  I see myself pulling it, shiny and new, from the shelf…but I don’t actually see it, except for the hint of foiled embossing on the cover for the title.    Maybe I’m just a bad author.  Maybe I don’t love my books enough.   Maybe my brain just doesn’t work that way, but none of them have ever tossed up a cover idea.    I think I’m just going to leave this one in their hands.

On another note, finished that quirky little ghost story I was working on (“The Broker and the Fetch”) and now I get to peruse ralan.com to see if I can find it a suitable home.   My usual go to places are all science fiction, so I’ll have to go outside of my box to see where I send it to.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LadyGrave
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 22:45:56

    It’s awesome that they *asked* you about cover art. I was under the impression that, in traditional publishing, the author isn’t often consulted about the cover. I hope they pick a good one for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

